What Imperfection Does

Thought Catalog

Finding ForresterFinding Forrester

When I first worked at College Humor, back when comments required personalized site accounts, there was a commenter named Sparty80. And Sparty didn’t like me

The comments were harsh. Were personal. Used my full name. Over the course of a few weeks, he’d call out my articles in the comments, call my articles out in the comment sections of other articles, and at one point, I believe he specifically wrote that he was going to name his first born son Lev Novak just so “he could smack Lev Novak in his face.”

He used my full name. I repeat that because that name doesn’t mean much to you, I imagine but it meant a lot to me. It was direct and personal, even behind a screen, to hear somebody call me out like that. Sitting behind my computer, I felt sick- this was a dog whistle. I was…

View original post 869 more words

Leave a Reply

